Welcome to the Abcam blog

Hippocampal circuit remodeling and information flow, free webinar

Thursday, March 19: 07:00 PDT, 10:00 EDT, 14:00 GMT, 15:00 CET

Presented by Alejandro Schinder from Leloir Institute (CONICET) in Buenos Aires and Benedikt Berninger from University of Mainz, this webinar is the third installment of the webinar series on direct reprogramming.

It will talk about adult neurogenesis as a substrate for experience-dependent circuit remodeling and information flow in the hippocampus, as well as discuss the conceptual and technical aspects on plasticity of neural circuits.

Register free»


Epigenetic editing: an upcoming cancer therapy?

Research on epigenetic editing has recently yielded some exciting results in cancer cells. Does this approach have the potential to be the next breakthrough in cancer therapy?

Learn more»


Introducing next generation IHC techniques

Labelled monoclonal antibodies analysed by mass spectrometry allow for quantitative multiplexing on intact tissue samples.

Recent advances in immunohistochemistry (IHC) techniques have improved their dynamic range by multiple orders of magnitude. This significant jump in the quantity of proteins detectable on a tissue sample is truly the next generation of IHC.

Read article»


Immunofluorescent array tomography for studying subcellular structures in the brain, free webinar

Wednesday, March 18, 08:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 15:00 GMT, 16:00 CET

Presented by Kristina Micheva (Stanford University) and Thomas Misgeld (Technical University Munich and German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases), this webinar will provide an introduction to immunofluorescent array tomography - a method for studying synapses in the brain.

The webinar will also explain how the method can be applied to other subcellular structures such as mitochondria from a user's perspective.

Register now»


Metabolic regulation of cell death, free webinar

Wednesday, March 11, 07:00 PDT, 10:00 EDT, 14:00 GMT, 15:00 CET.

Dr Cristina Muñoz-Pinedo (IDIBELL, Spain) will discuss the interplay between cell death and cell metabolism, as well as the mechanisms of cell death during cancer and ischemia.

Topics covered:

  • Crosstalk between cell death and cell metabolism
  • Targeting metabolism to kill cancer cells
  • Cell death induced by metabolic stress
  • Ischemic cell death

Register now»


Scientist of the month February 2015: Marianne Rots

Interview with Marianne Rots, Professor of Molecular Epigenetics at the University Medical Center Groningen.

We asked about her latest research on epigenetic editing, and why she decided to focus on epigenetics research.

Read the full interview»


Epigenetic editing: towards reprogramming of gene expression

Free webinar, March 12, 08:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 15:00 GMT, 16:00 CET.

Professor Marianne Rots (University Medical Center Groningen) will present current approaches to epigenetic editing and discuss how it can ultimately correct epigenetics-associated diseases.

Register now»


Top epigenetics articles: January 2015

Looking to keep up with the latest epigenetics literature? Read summaries of our favorite epigenetics research papers from January.

This month, increased longevity in Myc haploinsufficient mice, m6A mRNA methylation regulates transition between naïve and primed pluripotent states, and the effect of EZH2 inhibition on non-small cell lung cancer sensitivity to TopoII inhibitors.

View our January selection»


Abcam Events’ 10th Anniversary winners announced

It was Abcam Events' 10 year anniversary in November 2014. To celebrate, we gave a way four registrations (including all-inclusive accommodation) to our two flagship conferences:

We are delighted to announce the winners of the giveaway are:

  • Samantha Fritzl (Cancer Research UK – Manchester Institute, UK)
  • Reza Bagherzadeh (Royan Institute, Iran / Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Hanji Majoros (University of Szeged, Hungary)
  • Fosco Giordano (Karolinska Institute, Sweden)

Learn more about the winners»


A new role for DNA methylation in adipocyte differentiation

What can recent epigenetics research tell us about how white adipose tissue is formed? And does this give us any clues for novel therapies for obesity?

We discuss some recent findings that highlight a role for DNA methylation in adipogenesis.

Read the full article»


More Entries